Helping the Honey Bees

I’ve been thinking a lot about the bees lately.

For one thing, I’m a honey freak, just luv the stuff. All varieties, shapes and sizes. If keeping bees were easier I’d do it in my own apartment.

Even my 2 year old daughter knows that “the bees collect pollen to help make honey to put into mommy’s tea!”
Oh, and for Winnie the Pooh, of course.

So naturally, when I saw the Bee Movie on Pay Per View I decided to let her watch it.
T.V. in our house is a limited thing that I try to keep to educational stuff but, hey, it’s about a BEE!
Plus I really needed a break.

And there we sat together, this past weekend, on the living room floor with the baby boy, she and I watching the movie, he pretty much crawling around grabbing and drooling on everything his fat little fingers could reach.
And then came the part in the flick (sorry if you haven’t seen it yet) where the bees stop working (it was sort of a union-type thing) and all of the flowers and trees start to die!

YIKES. Guess it was more educational than I thought. And not as annoying as I feared it might be, given how heavily it was promoted (which usually puts me off something for good).

But back to the bees. As we all know, the little guys are in trouble. Not cartoon trouble, real possibly dwindling into extinction trouble!
I started wondering how climate change, pollution, pesticides and other matters must be impacting them and how that a lot of that must be in our power to control. If we want to.

Here, a little info on how we can help the Bees:

What We Can Do to Help the Honey bees?
Marla Spivak and Gary Reuter, Department of Entomology, University of Minnesota
Reprinted from the Yard and Garden Line Newsletter (May 1, 2007)

Honey bee colonies in the U.S. are overworked and under-appreciated. They are the world’s most important pollinators of many fruits, vegetables and seed crops, contributing billions of dollars in value to agriculture and our diet. Bees also pollinate wildflowers in our natural ecosystems and much of what we plant in our home gardens. Without honey bees, and other bee pollinators, the produce section in our grocery stores would have about 1/3 fewer fruits and vegetables and it is impossible to estimate how many flowers would not set seed.

click here to read full text:
http://www.vegedge.umn.edu/MNFruit&VegNews/Vol4/511bee.htm

2 responses to “Helping the Honey Bees

  1. I love bees! Especially when they’re loaded down with pollen and trying to fly around. I’m doing some growing in a nursery in the middle of Miami with a friend and I think I’m gonna get a beehive! Gotta read up on it first though. There are a lot of sick bees out there. And bats. Another pollinator. Boy, are we in trouble!

  2. What the Hell Can I Eat?

    Hey Lor! Me too, and so does Mia. When we see bees in the park she wants to pick them up and hold them (<:

    If you get that beehive going you MUST send me pictures!
    xo

Leave a Reply

