Things that tick me off on labels

Ok, as any of you who read this blog know I am a busy, BUSY woman.
Hell, we’re ALL busy, that’s why taking the extra time and effort to eat well and serve good food to our families is made that much easier when products are clearly labeled.
So that’s why when I buy products from a company that’s made it’s name selling natural and ORGANIC healthy fare I expect the items to be, well, ORGANIC damn it!

The following, once again, underscores the need to read labels and packaging very, VERY closely.

There I was this morning, rushing to get out the door, hopping around with one shoe on, toothbrush between my teeth, trying to finish preparing my two year old’s lunch when I flip the box of my emergency “healthy” kid food over (the stuff I buy just in case I ‘m too fried on Sunday night to cook for the next day. In this case it was Amy’s Cheese Lasagna), and read this:

Cheese Lasagna
INGREDIENTS : ORGANIC LASAGNA PASTA (ORGANIC SEMOLINA FLOUR, ORGANIC WHOLE WHEAT DURUM FLOUR, WATER), ORGANIC TOMATO PUREE, RICOTTA CHEESE, FILTERED WATER, ORGANIC ONIONS, ORGANIC LOWFAT MILK, ORGANIC MONTEREY JACK CHEESE, ORGANIC CHEDDAR CHEESE, PART SKIM MOZZARELLA CHEESE, PARMESAN CHEESE, ORGANIC EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL, SEA SALT, ORGANIC HONEY, SPICES, ORGANIC GARLIC. CONTAINS MILK AND WHEAT.

hmmm, wait a minute, it seems that only a couple of the cheeses here are organic and that three of them (The Ricotta, Mozzarella and Parmesan) and not.

so then I check the Macaroni & Cheese that I sometimes give her (with the comfort of knowing that “at least it’s organic”…)

Macaroni & Cheese 9oz
INGREDIENTS : 0G TRANS FAT • NO ADDED MSG • NO PRESERVATIVES ORGANIC MACARONI (ORGANIC SEMOLINA FLOUR, ORGANIC WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, WATER), ORGANIC LOWFAT MILK, CHEDDAR CHEESE, GRADE AA BUTTER, ORGANIC RICE FLOUR, SEA SALT, ANNATTO. CONTAINS WHEAT AND MILK.

Again, it seems that the Cheddar chesse and butter are not at all organic (the two highest-fat ingredients listed! And don’t we all know by now that most toxins and pesticides collect most heavily in fats and dairy??)

oh MAN! Here I am, running around like a nutjob trying to get untainted milk, butter and cheese from happy and healthy cows and they’re sliding in the regular old big business stuff right under my nose! Right away I go through my head and mentally compute just how much “renegade” dairy has been going into my little thirty pound kid and I don’t like it, not one little bit. In fact I’m pissed off!

But, does this make it junk food? I dunno. It’s better than many, many other brands that are loaded with preservatives and corn syrup, etc… but is it all that I had hoped, and believed? NO.
In all fairness, even though most of their products are called Amy’s Organic, not ALL are, some just have the work Organic on the label and you must read the small print to see which part of it is, as in this case. But in looking through some other of Amy’s products in my cupboard I found that sometimes only the pasta or grain is organic and none of the dairy products are (the stuff you really want to be careful with). I’m just sayin’…

NEW NOTE:
after writing this I went through my cupboard and found that it isn’t just Amy’s, it’s also Annie’s (the “organic” mac n cheese with the cute cartoon bunny on it) and several other brands. I’m going to call the company and ask if this is a cost cutting measure or a matter of available resources. I will let you know what I find out. In the meantime, check out your own cupboards and tell me what’s there…

Leave a Reply

